We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Screaming into the Yawning Vacuum of Victory

by Nick Didkovsky and Mark Howell

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    High energy, idiosyncratic electric guitar duos that thrill and delight, created by two stalwarts of the NYC downtown music scene.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $5 USD  or more


Can you? 00:25
Cattle rustlers and battle busters comin' into the fold. Snappin' at my skin like baby vampires, toothless and horny. Trap my britches, Daddy. Take it to ex scream. I can't help what I'm attracted to. I can't help it, can you?
Fat dad fat son Dumb dad dumb son Gun dad gun son Mean dad mean son Dumb dad dumb son Gun dad gun son Mean dad mean son Fat dad fat son Gun dad gun son Mean dad mean son Dumb dad dumb son Fat dad fat son Ugly dad ugly son Ugly dad ugly son
Chunko 01:20
Twitch Code 01:54
Napkin 00:31
Takeout 01:26
Easy Action 00:53
On 00:21
Bust 00:04
Bunch 00:22
Carwash 00:15
Make It Stop 00:20
A 00:24
Mighty Bunch 00:43
Luscious 00:25
Heat 01:52


Mark Howell and Nick Didkovsky first began working together in Fred Frith's electric guitar quartet in 1989. They've enjoyed years of friendship since.

During Mark's visit to New York City in 2021, he and Nick grabbed a few hours during the afternoons of 9/6 and 9/24 to record some guitar duos at Nick's studio in the venerable Music Building on 8th Ave. They brought a wide range of ideas, compositions, and sketches to the table and worked fast, recording roughly half of the 21 tracks here in each session.

Mark plugged a 1972 Gibson Les Paul Gold Top with Lollar 50's wind pickups into a late 80's Marshall JCM800 2205 and a Kolbe 1x12 cabinet, with no effects in line. Nick plugged his 1986 Gibson Les Paul Custom ("the red one") into a 1972 Marshall Super Bass (modded to Super Lead specs) with a Kolbe 1x12 cabinet, also with no effects in line.

We are thrilled to be working together again, and very excited to present the music we made together here!

Physical CD at www.punosmusic.com/didkovskyhowell

Guitarist Mark Howell arrived in New York City in 1982, and a year later formed Better Than Death (BTD) with bass clarinetist Michael Lytle. In 1986 he collaborated with Etron Fou saxophonist, Bruno Meillier to form Zero Pop. Shortly thereafter they recorded, All the Big Mystics and Glows in the Dark, and between 1986 and 1994 toured Europe seven times and the United States three. In between Zero Pop tours BTD recorded Swimman (1987), supported by a U.S. tour.

Nick Didkovsky is a guitarist, composer, and music software programmer. He founded the rock band Doctor Nerve in 1983, the metal bands Häßliche Luftmasken and Vomit Fist, and the free metal guitar duo CHORD. He has composed for Bang On A Can All-Stars, Meridian Arts Ensemble, ETHEL, and others. His compositions and guitar work appear on over 50 records. Album credits include Alice Cooper "Paranormal".


released November 20, 2021

Nick Didkovsky - electric guitar and composition
Mark Howell - electric guitar and composition
Artwork by Sasha Didkovsky ( www.instagram.com/sashavond/ )


all rights reserved



Doctor Nerve New York, New York

Nick Didkovsky is a guitarist and composer from NYC

contact / help

Contact Doctor Nerve

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Doctor Nerve recommends:

If you like Screaming into the Yawning Vacuum of Victory, you may also like: